Michael A. Black

Michael A. Black

Award-Winning Author/Chicago Area Police Officer (ret.)

Michael A. Black is the award-winning author of 50 books, most of which are in the mystery and thriller genres. He has written in the sci-fi, western, horror, and sports genres. A retired police officer from the Chicago area, he has done everything from patrol to investigating homicides to conducting numerous SWAT operations. Black was awarded the Cook County Medal of Merit in 2010. He is also the author of over 100 short stories and articles, and wrote two novels with television star, Richard Belzer (Law & Order SVU). Both his private eye series featuring Ron Shade and his police procedural series with Frank Leal and Olivia Hart won numerous awards. He wrote eleven novels under the name Don Pendleton in the Executioner series and his Executioner novel, Fatal Prescription, won the Best Original Novel Scribe Award in 2018. He has written numerous westerns under both his name (Legends of the West: A Deputy Bass Reeves Novel) and as A.W. Hart (Killer’s Ghost, Killer’s Gamble, Killer’s Requiem, and Border Blood). His latest books include his Trackdown series (Devil’s Dance, Devil’s Fancy, Devil’s Brigade, Devil’s Advocate, Devil’s Vendetta, Devil’s Breed, Devil’s Reckoning, and Devil’s Lair). He is exceptionally proud of his latest western, Where Legends Lie, which he considers his finest work to date.

Website: http://www.police-writers.com/black.html


Scroll to Top